The Route of Pius

A permanent orienteering activity called The Route of Pius has been organized by the Natural Spaces of Ponent project. 

It is an activity for discovering the nature area differently; performed in a specific way that is entertaining and fun!

The permanent orienteering route, the Route of Pius, is installed in 10 of the 20 natural areas of Ponent. In each of these 10 nature areas there are plants and animals hiding that the participant must find following the explanations of the field-book by the naturalist Pius Font i Quer; a printed field-book that can be obtained at information points of the Ponent natural spaces.

How does it work?

The person wishing to participate must acquire the field-book of the nature area of the route they want. The field-book explains the game, the rules, gives advice and has a central map of the nature area.

As the field-book tells us, the visitor must find the objects (animals and plants) that are permanently hidden there, and answer the questions posed by the field-book, this requires the visitor to traverse the nature area.

The activity ends once the field-book of the nature area has been filled.

If the participant is able to fill out the 10 field-books (1 per area), s/he will receive a prize, which can be collected at the Leader Association of Ponent. 

Where can we find it?

Currently, you can find the activity set up with the field-books in the following natural spaces:

The field-books can be downloaded from this website clicking on the natural area’s name, or they are also to be found printed in the following locations:

Estany d'Ivars i Vila-sana Information Point of Cal Sinén
Aiguabarreig Segre - Cinca Town hall of La Granja d'Escarp, Marta Bar, La Terrassa Bar-Restaurant, Rasep Kiosk
Secans de Belianes - Preixana Town hall of Preixana
Plans de Sió Concabella’s Castle

Very soon, you will be able to find the activity installed and the field-books of the other nature areas:

  • Els Bessons
  • Secans de Mas de Melons i Alfés
  • Serra de Bellmunt-Almenara
  • Secans del Segrià i Utxesa
  • Vall de Vinaixa
  • Serra de la Llena-Muntanyes de Prades